Start of main content

Programme and speakers

DPSP took place over four days:

Monday 4 March

9am – 4.30pm
Tutorial: Protecting the Evolving Grid: Meeting Technology and Workforce Challenges

5pm - 8pm
Technical visit: Manchester High Voltage Lab

Tuesday 5 March

Conference sessions and evening drinks reception.

Wednesday 6 March

Conference sessions and conference dinner.

Thursday 7 March

Conference sessions until 2pm.

Conference programme

Conference speakers

Gurpal Singh

Principal Engineer & Professions Lead, Engineering Hub, OFGEM

Anna Blackwell

Product Manager (Phasor Data), National Grid ESO

Chen-Ching Liu

American Electric Power Professor and Director, Power and Energy Centre, Virginia Tech

Cédric Moors

Head of Asset Management Secondary Systems, Elia

Ben Marshall

HVDC Technology Manager, The National HVDC Centre

Peter Crossley

Universities of Exeter and Manchester

Jorge Solar

Lead Protection Engineer - EngS - Design + Standards - Substations, SP Energy Networks

Jeffrey Wischkaemper

Research Associate Professor, Texas A&M University

Mark Stockton

Lead Subject Matter Expert (Secondary), Transmission Policy & Standards, SSEN Transmission

Lothar Fickert

Emeritus Professor, Graz University of Technology

Professor Xinzhou Dong

Director of the Power System Research Institute, Tsinghua University

Maud Merley

PAC System expert, RTE

Normann Fischer

Vice President, Schweitzer Engineering Laboratories (SEL)

Margaret Taggart

Transmission Design Engineer, NIE Networks

Daniel Randles

Senior Protection Engineer, Ørsted

Sean McGuinness

Technical Executive over Transmission & Distribution Grid Protection, Electric Power Research Institute (EPRI)

Ray Zhang

Associate Director, Arup

Rannveig Løken

Head of Team Protection, Statnett SF

Dr Dave Hewings

Head of Engineering and Asset Management, Network Rail

Professor Campbell Booth

Vice Dean - Research, Faculty of Engineering, University of Strathclyde

Tim Green

Academic Leader for Sustainability, Professor, Imperial College London

Felipe Lopes

Professor, Federal University of Paraíba

Biljana Stojkovska

Transmission and Congestion Commercial Manager, BP

Alexander Tsylin

Lead Protection Specialist, Ørsted A/S

Kati Sidwall

Technical Marketing Manager, RTDS Technologies

Colin Scoble

Senior Protection Engineer, UK Power Networks

Dr Adam Dyśko

Reader, Electronic and Electrical Engineering, University of Strathclyde

Emiliano Casale

Station Systems Manager, Terna

Faheem Akhter

Senior Design Engineer, Siemens Energy

Niall McDonald

Head of Technical Services, Asset Management and Operations, SSEN Transmission

Laura Norton

Head of EDI, The Institution of Engineering and Technology

Gabriella Pinheiro dos Santos

PhD student, University of São Paulo